IIS Awards Program

The mission of the IIS Honors Committee is to honor those influential individuals whose contributions to the insurance industry have been truly groundbreaking and which have conferred the greatest benefit on society.  These Awards - the Insurance Hall of Fame and the John S. Bickley Founder’s Awards - are presented annually in conjunction with the IIS Global Insurance Forum.


In addition, when deemed appropriate by the Honors Committee, individuals who have provided outstanding support of the IIS and its mission, are honored through the Commissioner General Award and the Dr. Kenneth Black, Jr. Distinguished Service Award.


Kenneth Black, Jr. Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award may be presented by the Honors Committee to an individual who has had a significant influence on the development of the Society over a period of years.

IIS Congratulates the 2017 Distinguished Service Award Recipient


David Piesse, Chief Risk Officer, Guardtime, Hong Kong

2016 Distinguished Service Award Recipient


Gary Comerford, Consultant, RGA Reinsurance Company, Canada

Download Distinguished Service Award Roster


Commissioner General Award

The Commissioner General Award may be presented to an individual, or individuals, who have been most influential in the conduct of the Global Insurance Forum.
Download Commissioner General Award Roster


IIS Honors Committee

The IIS Honors Committee is a body of senior insurance executives and academics from around the globe, representing all sectors of the industry. Honors Committee members are selected by the IIS President and CEO and ratified by the IIS Board of Directors.