Industry Awards

IIS Congratulates the 2017 Insurance Hall of Fame Laureate!

Nikolaus von Bomhard, Chairman of the Board of Management, Munich Re

From its beginning, insurance was designed to serve a major role in society - - protecting against risks to financial security, preserving assets, fueling economic growth and providing investments for the future. The value and impact of insurance has grown considerably since its inception because of its basic premise: the creation of a better life for those who use it. 


The benefits of insurance have been possible through the achievements of insurance leaders – innovators, visionaries and thinkers – whose intellect, perseverance and creativity has enriched the lives of millions and expanded the influence of insurance worldwide.  In turn, these qualities of leadership are recognized through the International Insurance Society’s industry awards program.




Recognized as the premier award in the insurance industry, The Insurance Hall of Fame award is bestowed on an individual who has made a broad, encompassing and lasting contribution to the insurance industry, thereby affecting a substantial influence on the ability of the industry to serve society. Insurance Hall of Fame Laureates are inducted during the gala awards dinner at the annual Global Insurance Forum.


Each year, a slate of candidates, deemed to fulfill the Hall of Fame Awards criteria, is selected by the IIS Honors Committee, a body of senior insurance executives and academics representing all sectors of the industry and regions of the world. The slate is then voted on by IIS worldwide membership through a secret ballot certified by an independent organization. To recognize those leaders who were active in their careers earlier in the history of insurance, the IIS Honors Committee may also elect a person to receive the Insurance Hall of Fame posthumously.

2016 Insurance Hall of Fame Laureate:

Donald Kramer, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, ILS Capital Management, USA

2016 Insurance Hall of Fame Induction – Donald Kramer


2015 Insurance Hall of Fame Laureate:

Stephen Catlin, Executive Deputy Chairman,XL Group plc, UK

2015 Insurance Hall of Fame Induction – Stephen Catlin


Complete  Insurance Hall of Fame Laureate Roster


With appreciation to law firm McCarthy Denning Limited for conducting the official balloting of the 2017 Insurance Hall of Fame.